• Creator
    Topic
    Aaron F. Silvers
    Participant

Hey there forum. So I was gifted a free Edel 540 sailboat and I am lucky to have her. But right now I have a giant paperweight if I can’t a damn mast! So, I am new to sailing and was wanting to know if anybody could point me in the right direction to finding one.

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    IMG 1724PaulK
    Participant

You are starting to find out why a free boat is the most expensive one. Seldèn could probably provide you a new mast, but it would likely cost quite a bit. Do you have the sails? Looking for used spars online may unearth something, or it may not. The quickest solution might be to find a rigger nearby who could perhaps re-rig an existing mast to fit your sails. He may know that a Catalina 22 or some other mast could be cut down to the right size for you, for example. Paying for his knowledge might be well worthwhile.

Aaron F. Silvers
    Participant

Freakin awesome! It does come with the sails and the boom.

Aaron F. Silvers
    Participant

what I don’t know is what size the original mast was.

IMG 1724PaulK
    Participant

This should help:
    https://www.sailrite.com/Edel-540-Sail-Data

Since the mast is stepped on the cabin top and the plan shown on Sailboatdata.com is to scale, the rigger should be able to figure things out. You could also look for an owner’s group online. Since the boat was built in Canada as well as France, there must be some others around too.

Aaron F. Silvers
    Participant

ya, I have been on that site and I didn’t know alot of the lingo so I don’t know what the mast length was.

IMG 1724PaulK
    Participant